We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Women's Raga Massive Compilation v1

by Brooklyn Raga Massive

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $15 USD  or more




Women's Raga Massive Compilation v.1 is a garland of songs by contemporary female voices, exploring sounds of the subcontinent and beyond. We are artists, daughters, mothers, sisters, activists and friends, weaving together sonic threads of the past and present. Embodying innovation and honoring age-old traditions of Indian classical music, mystical Sufi songs, jazz, spiritual chanting, storytelling and more, this compilation represents Brooklyn Raga Massive’s growing community. We are proud to present BRM’s first compilation featuring all women-led projects, especially during such a transformative time in the world for women.

100% of proceeds will be donated to Shanti Bhavan Children's Project, a residential school exclusively for children born into India's lowest socioeconomic class. For over 20 years, Shanti Bhavan has empowered children from India's poorest communities to break the cycle of poverty and uplift not only themselves but their families.


Compiled by Trina Basu
Cover design by Seema Lisa Pandya


released March 1, 2017

1) "Uproar" Rasika Shekar (flute/ composition), Hooni
Min (piano), Tabari Lake (bass), Joshua Wheatley (drums)

2) "Now Is The Time" Trina Basu (violin), Amali Premawardhana (cello), Perry Wortman (bass), Rajna Swaminathan (mridangam)

3) "Keep Your Gaze Steady"Morley (vocals), Ehren Hanson (tabla)

4)"Suspension" Samita Sinha

5) "Man Kunto Maula" Arooj Aftab (vocals/arrangement), Amir Khusrau (lyrics), Bhrigu Sahni (guitar), Baqir Abbas (bansuri), Jorn Bielfeldt (drums), Mario Carrillo (bass): 6) Miyan Ki Malhar Mitali Banerjee Bhawmik & Meghashyam Keshav (tabla), Ramachandra Joshi (harmonium):

7) "Tempest" Trina Basu & Arun Ramamurthy (violin /composition), Rich Stein (percussion): 8) Nithakam Ganavya Doraiswamy (vocals), Albert Sanz (piano), Pablo Martín Caminero (bass)

9) "Snake" Rajna Swaminathan (piano/ mridangam), Anjna Swaminathan (violin), Sam McCormally (guitar)

10) "Urban Gamaka" Roopa Mahadevan & Shiv Subramaniam (vocals), Akshay Ananthapadmanabhan (mridangam), M. Balamuralikrishna (composer)

11) "Navayee" Haleh Liza (vocals & guitar), Matt Kilmer (percussion), Eyvind Kang (violin), Shahzad Ismaily (guitar & bass), Marika Hughes (cello)

12) "Enge Nee" Shilpa Ananth (vocals/ composition), Takahiro Izumikawa (keyboard), Sai Raman (tabla)

13) "Kedar Drut" Alif Laila (sitar), Anubrata Chatterjee (tabla): 14) Jayanthi Nistha Raj (violin), Aakash Mittal (alto sax), Debu Nayak (tabla)

15) "Let’s Be This Moment" Seema Pandya (vocals/ composition), Neel Murgai (sitar & guitar), Sameer Gupta (tabla)

16) "Next To The Divine" YaliniDream (written/ spoken), Ganavya Doraiswamy (musical composition & performance)

© various by individual tracks by artist
© 2018 Compilation by Brooklyn Raga Massive


all rights reserved



Brooklyn Raga Massive Brooklyn, New York

Brooklyn Raga Massive is a collective of forward thinking musicians rooted in Indian classical music, but inspired by jazz, Western classical, rock and much more. There is a critical mass of similarly inspired musicians in Brooklyn right now. This is their sound. BRM presents a weekly concert featuring different bands or Indian classical acts followed by a jam session of the highest caliber. ... more

contact / help

Contact Brooklyn Raga Massive

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Brooklyn Raga Massive, you may also like: